Anselm Feuerbach • Lesbia and her Sparrow

Anselm Feuerbach
Lesbia and her Sparrow

c.1866

Black chalk heightened with white on brownish paper
40.5 : 31.5 cm
Monogrammed centre left
Verso: Female figure on a southern shore

Provenance
Paul Cassirer, Berlin
Julius Böhler, Munich
Private Collection

This is a preliminary study for Feuerbach’s painting of the same title. (See Jürgen Ecker, Anselm Feuerbach. Leben und Werk. Kritischer Katalog der Gemälde, Ölskizzen und Ölstudien, Munich 1991, p. 284, no. 448)

Price on request


BIOGRAPHY

Anselm Feuerbach
1829 Speyer - 1880 Venice

Anselm Feuerbach is considered, alongside Arnold Böcklin and Hans von Marées, one of the most important representatives of the German Romantics, a German-speaking group of artists based in Italy, formed in the second half of the 19th century.

After spending time studying in Düsseldorf, Munich and Antwerp, Feuerbach travels to Paris in 1851 where he becomes a student at the studio of Thomas Couture, whose monumental painting “Romans During the Decadence” (Musée d’Orsay, Paris) becomes a lasting influence on his artistic practice.

However, it is only in Italy – a destination he seeks out over and over from 1855 onwards – that Feuerbach finds his artistic home. A stipend enables him to travel to Venice, wherefrom he makes his way from there to Rome via Florence in 1856. Here he rubs shoulders with artists Arnold Böcklin, Reinhold Begas and Ludwig Passini, as well as his future biographer Julius Allgeyer, who introduces him to patron of the arts Count Schack in 1862. Schack purchases a number of Feuerbach’s paintings over the coming years, thus securing the financial stability of the spendthrift painter.

Feuerbach’s decisive encounter in Rome, artistically as well as privately, is meeting Anna Risi, known as Nanna. She becomes his model in 1860 and shortly thereafter his lover. Nanna embodies Feuerbach’s ideal of femininity like no other; to him she is the epitome of timeless beauty, majesty, dignity and classical stature. In the coming years the young Roman will be the primary subject of his paintings, in which she appears not only as a real persons but also as historical or mythological figures (i.e. “Lucretia Borgia” (Städel Museum, Frankfurt on Main) or “Iphigenia” (Hessisches Landesmuseum, Darmstadt)). Although the development of Feuerbach’s characteristic style, defined by subtly muted colour and a monumental perception of shape, is irrevocably intertwined with Nanna, their relationship comes to an end in 1865 - not lastly because of the artist’s contrary nature. Only years later he finds a new model in Lucia Brunacci, who serves mainly as the heroic figure in the grand compositions of Feuerbach’s mature period (i.e. “Medea” (Neue Pinakothek, Munich)).

In 1872 Feuerbach accepts a professorship of historical painting at the Academy in Vienna; four years later he leaves this position due to a lack of artistic successes during this period. After a short stay in Germany he returns to Venice in 1876, where, aged 50, he meets a lonely end in 1880.

Feuerbach’s stepmother, Henriette, played a substantial role in his gaining recognition as well as economic stability, functioning as her son’s agent and handling his business interests in the homeland. After his death she edits his autobiographical writings and publishes them as “Legacy”. The work remains the longest running print of an artist’s biography in the German language to date, posthumously securing Feuerbach’s legendary status for decades.

Feuerbach, Anselm (1829 Speyer - 1880 Venice)
Anselm Feuerbach: Selbstbildnis, 1873, Berlin, SMPK, Alte Nationalgalerie

Anselm Feuerbach • Lesbia mit dem Vogel

Anselm Feuerbach
Lesbia mit dem Vogel

um 1866

Schwarze Kreide und weiße Höhung auf bräunlichem Papier
40,5 x 31,5 cm
Links mittig monogrammiert
Verso: Weibliche Figur an südlichem Gestade

Provenienz:
Paul Cassirer, Berlin
Julius Böhler, München
Privatbesitz

Es handelt sich um eine Vorstudie zu Anselm Feuerbachs Gemälde "Lesbia mit dem Vogel" (vgl. Jürgen Ecker: Anselm Feuerbach. Leben und Werk. Kritischer Katalog der Gemälde, Ölskizzen und Ölstudien. München 1991, Nr. 448, Seite 284).

Preis auf Anfrage


BIOGRAFIE

Anselm Feuerbach
1829 Speyer - 1880 Venedig

Anselm Feuerbach zählt neben Arnold Böcklin und Hans von Marées zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der Deutschrömer, einer deutschsprachigen Künstlergruppe in Italien, die sich in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts bildet.

Nach Studienaufenthalten in Düsseldorf, München und Antwerpen reist Feuerbach 1851 nach Paris, wo er als Schüler in das Atelier von Thomas Couture eintritt, dessen Monumentalgemälde ''Die Römer der Verfallszeit'' (Musée d’Orsay, Paris) seine Kunstauffassung nachhaltig prägt.

Doch erst in Italien, wohin er ab 1855 immer wieder reist, findet Feuerbach seine eigentliche künstlerische Heimat. Ein Stipendium ermöglicht ihm die Reise nach Venedig, von wo er 1856 über Florenz nach Rom kommt. Dort verkehrt er mit den Künstlern Arnold Böcklin, Reinhold Begas und Ludwig Passini sowie seinem späteren Biographen Julius Allgeyer, der ihn 1862 mit dem Kunstmäzen Graf Schack bekannt macht. Dieser erwirbt in den folgenden Jahren etliche Gemälde Feuerbachs und sichert so das finanzielle Auskommen des verschwenderisch lebenden Malers.

Das künstlerisch wie persönlich entscheidende Erlebnis in Rom ist für Feuerbach die Begegnung mit Anna Risi, genannt Nanna. 1860 wird sie sein Modell, wenig später seine Geliebte. Wie keine zweite Frau verkörpert Nanna Feuerbachs Idealvorstellung von Weiblichkeit, sie erscheint ihm als Sinnbild zeitloser Schönheit, Hoheit, Würde und klassischer Größe schlechthin. In den kommenden Jahren wird die junge Römerin zum wichtigsten Thema seiner Gemälde, in denen sie als reale Person wie auch als historische bzw. mythologische Figur erscheint (z.B. „Lucrezia Borgia“ (Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main) oder „Iphigenie“ (Hessisches Landesmuseum, Darmstadt). Obwohl die Entwicklung von Feuerbachs eigenem charakteristischen Stil, der sich durch ein subtil gedämpftes Kolorit sowie eine monumentale Auffassung der Form auszeichnet, untrennbar mit Nanna verbunden ist, kommt es 1865 zum Bruch zwischen den beiden, woran die komplizierte und gegensätzliche Natur des Künstlers wesentlichen Anteil hat. Erst Jahre später findet er in Lucia Brunacci ein neues Modell, das ihm als meist heroische Figur für die großen Kompositionen seiner Reifezeit dient (z.B. „Medea“ (Neue Pinakothek, München)).

1872 nimmt Feuerbach eine Professur für Historienmalerei an der Wiener Akademie an, aufgrund ausbleibender künstlerischer Erfolge gibt er diese Position jedoch vier Jahre später wieder auf. 1876 siedelt er nach kurzem Aufenthalt in Deutschland nach Venedig über, wo er 1880 im Alter 50 Jahren in Einsamkeit stirbt.
Einen wesentlichen Anteil an der Anerkennung und wirtschaftlichen Absicherung Feuerbachs hat von Anbeginn seine Stiefmutter Henriette, die in der Rolle eines Agenten die geschäftlichen Interessen ihres Sohnes in der alten Heimat vertritt. Nach seinem Tod bearbeitet sie seine hinterlassenen autobiographischen Schriften und gibt sie als „Vermächtnis“ heraus. Es ist bis heute die meist verlegte deutschsprachige Künstlerbiographie, die Feuerbach postum über Jahrzehnte hinweg einen kultähnlichen Status sichert.

Feuerbach, Anselm (1829 Speyer - 1880 Venedig)
Anselm Feuerbach: Selbstbildnis, 1873, Berlin, SMPK, Alte Nationalgalerie