Otto Greiner • Study of Nannina

Otto Greiner
Study of Nannina

c.1905

Charcoal on paper
45 : 34 cm
Stamp of the artist’s estate lower right

The drawing depicts the artist’s wife, Nannina. It is a preparatory study for the figure of Omphale in the painting titled Herakles bei Omphale. Executed in 1905, the painting is now in the collection of the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart.

7.500 €


BIOGRAPHY

Otto Greiner
1869 Leipzig - 1916 Munich

Otto Greiner began his artistic career training as a lithographer in his home town of Leipzig. In 1888 he was awarded a bursary enabling him to continue his studies at the Academy of Art in Munich. At a Munich exhibition he encountered the work of Max Klinger – already a leading figure in contemporary art. The encounter proved to be life-changing. Greiner resolved to establish contact with Klinger in Italy. A first meeting took place in Rome in 1891. A friendship quickly developed and Klinger actively encouraged his younger colleague in his work. Both artists firmly rejected the view some critics held that theirs was a teacher-pupil relationship.

Greiner quickly recognized Italy as his spiritual home. He settled in Rome permanently in 1898, moving into Klinger’s former studio near the Colosseum. He was in contact with and highly regarded by the community of German artists living and working in Rome. When Italy entered the war in 1915 he was obliged to return to Munich. He died in Munich in 1916 after contracting pneumonia.

Greiner was a printmaker and draughtsman of pre-eminent talent but he also aspired to public recognition as a painter. Many of his paintings are monumental in format and draw on mythological subjects, often depicting nudes in Italianate landscapes. Notable examples are Ulysses and the Sirens (formerly Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig), Hercules and Omphale (Staatsgalerie, Stuttgart) and Prometheus (National Gallery of Canada, Toronto). He produced a large body of studies, working in ink, charcoal, red chalk, gouache and coloured crayon. These drawings underline the precision of his working methods and his confident handling of materials, techniques and subjects, combined with remarkable compositional skill and virtuoso draughtsmanship. Depictions of the human figure were central to his interests – his predilection for particularly complex poses had few parallels at the time. His masterly portrait drawings and nudes are his major artistic legacy.

Greiner, Otto (1869 Leipzig - 1916 Munich)
Otto Greiner: Selbstbildnis, 1902, Verbleib unbekannt

MORE ARTWORK BY THIS ARTIST

Otto Greiner
On the Shore of Lake Garda, near Sirmione
Sold  
Details
Otto Greiner
Head of a Child
Sold  
Details

Otto Greiner • Nannina Greiner

Otto Greiner
Nannina Greiner

um 1905

Kohle auf Papier
45 x 34 cm
Rechts unten Nachlassstempel

Die Zeichnung stellt Otto Greiners Ehefrau Nannina dar und diente als Studie zur Omphale in dem 1905 vollendeten Gemälde "Herakles bei Omphale" (heute Staatsgalerie Stuttgart)

7.500 €


BIOGRAFIE

Otto Greiner
1869 Leipzig - 1916 München

Otto Greiner absolviert zunächst eine Ausbildung zum Lithographen in seiner Heimatstadt Leipzig, bevor er dank eines Stipendiums 1888 an die Kunstakademie nach München geht. Eine dort gezeigte Ausstellung mit Werken Max Klingers wird für ihn zum Schlüsselerlebnis und weckt in ihm den Wunsch, den bereits weit über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus bekannten Künstler persönlich kennenzulernen. 1891 sucht er ihn in Rom auf, freundet sich mit ihm an und genießt bald seine Unterstützung. Ihre Verbindung wird von der Kunstkritik oft als Lehrer-Schüler-Verhältnis ausgelegt, eine Deutung, gegen die sich jedoch beide Künstler verwahren.

Wie vor ihm die Deutschrömer, so findet auch Greiner in Italien seine zweite Heimat. Seit 1898 lebt er dauerhaft in Rom, übernimmt Klingers ehemaliges Atelier in direkter Nachbarschaft zum Kolosseum und genießt innerhalb der deutschen Künstlerkolonie großes Ansehen. 1915 zwingt ihn indes der Eintritt Italiens in den Ersten Weltkrieg zur Rückkehr nach München, wo er 1916 an den Folgen einer Lungenentzündung stirbt.

Obwohl Greiner seiner künstlerischen Veranlagung nach eher Graphiker und Zeichner ist, versucht er sich vor allem auch als Maler zu profilieren. Seine monumentalen Gemälde greifen meist mythologische Sujets auf und zeigen vornehmlich Akte in südlicher Landschaft (z.B. „Odysseus und die Sirenen“ (ehemals Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig), „Herkules bei Omphale“ (Staatsgalerie, Stuttgart) oder „Prometheus“ (National Gallery of Canada, Toronto)). Unzählige Studien in Feder, Kohle, Rötel, Gouache und Farbstift bezeugen nicht nur ungemeine Akribie bei der Vorbereitung, Aneignung und Bewältigung der Bildmotive, sondern auch stupendes handwerkliches Können und wohlüberlegten Einsatz zeichnerischer Mittel. Wie kaum ein zweiter Künstler seiner Zeit findet Greiner daran Gefallen, den menschlichen Körper in kompliziertesten Ansichten darzustellen, weshalb in seinen vortrefflichen Bildnis- und Aktzeichnungen die Essenz seines Künstlertums gesehen werden kann.

Greiner, Otto (1869 Leipzig - 1916 München)
Otto Greiner: Selbstbildnis, 1902, Verbleib unbekannt

WEITERE WERKE DES KÜNSTLERS

Otto Greiner
Ufer bei Sirmione am Gardasee
Preis auf Anfrage
Details
Otto Greiner
Studienkopf eines Mädchens
9.500 €
Details