Friedrich Stahl • A Walk in the Park

Friedrich Stahl
A Walk in the Park

c.1910

Gouache on paper
20 : 17 cm
Signed lower right

 


BIOGRAPHY

Friedrich Stahl
1863 Munich - 1940 Rome

Friedrich Stahl moved to Berlin on completion of his studies at the Munich Academy of Art in 1888. In 1892, in protest at the restrictive and intensely conservative exhibition policies of officialdom he joined Ludwig von Hofmann, Walter Leistikow and eight other artists in founding the ‘Vereinigung der XI’ [Group of Eleven]. With its elitist exhibition programme, the association quickly attracted public attention. It paved the way for the Berlin Secession but remained in existence until 1899.

Modern life in the imperial capital held a powerful attraction for Stahl. Unlike the Berlin artists Adolph Menzel and Franz Skarbina, who were well established in the city and also specialised in urban themes, Stahl had very little interest in the lifestyle of the ordinary population. Instead, he applied his illustration skills and talent for satirical imagery to depictions of the leisured, sophisticated lives of the middle classes and minor aristocracy. His spectrum of themes ranged from the hustle and bustle of urban life on boulevards and squares to intimate tête-à-têtes at balls and elegant soirées where high society whiled away the time exchanging pleasantries or by flirting and dancing. Stahl usually chose grisaille or bodycolour as his medium, recording his observations in a fluid, impressionistic style which captured the fleeting nature of the moment and heightened the impression of lightness and elegance. From 1899 onwards, the Munich-based humoristic magazine Fliegende Blätter was to publish over 350 of these drawings. They convey a very vivid impression of the zeitgeist of the German belle époque and its hedonistic attitude to life.

Stahl lived in England from 1898 to 1904. Here, he engaged intensively with the work of the Pre-Raphaelites, whose stated intention was to return to the values of Italian early Renaissance art. This stimulated Stahl’s interest in deepening his own knowledge of Italian art and he moved to Florence in 1904. In the nine years of his stay in Italy his oeuvre underwent a radical change. From then onwards, his painting reflected the influence of the Quattrocento both in style and subject matter. Austerely composed paintings depicting religious, literary and mythological themes executed in a glazing technique reminiscent of the Old Masters and suggesting a strain of sadness at the loss of bygone beauty superseded the insouciant urban-life images of the turn of the century. Although these new, dreamily mystic paintings were essentially anachronistic, critical reactions were nonetheless broadly positive.

Stahl moved back to his native Munich in 1913, before returning to Italy in 1920. He spent the last two decades of his life in Rome, where he was honoured with a major retrospective to commemorate his seventy-fifth birthday.


MORE ARTWORK BY THIS ARTIST

Friedrich Stahl
The Pessimist
Sold  
Details
Friedrich Stahl
Whispering Sweet Nothings
Sold  
Details

Friedrich Stahl • Promenade im Park

Friedrich Stahl
Promenade im Park

um 1910

Gouache auf Papier
20 x 17 cm
Rechts unten signiert

 


BIOGRAFIE

Friedrich Stahl
1863 München - 1940 Rom

Nach Abschluss seines Studiums an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in München zieht Friedrich Stahl 1888 nach Berlin. Aus Protest gegen die Ausstellungspolitik im offiziellen Kunstbetrieb gründet er zusammen mit Ludwig von Hofmann, Walter Leistikow und acht weiteren Kollegen die „Vereinigung der XI“. Die von 1892 bis 1899 bestehende Organisation erlangt durch ihre elitären Verkaufsausstellungen schnell öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit und entwickelt sich zum Vorläufer der Berliner Secession.

Das moderne Leben in der Reichshauptstadt übt eine ungemeine Faszination auf Stahl aus. Im Gegensatz zu alteingesessenen Berliner Künstlern wie Adolph Menzel oder Franz Skarbina, die sich ebenfalls mit urbanen Themen auseinandersetzen, interessiert er sich kaum für das Milieu der einfachen Leute. Stattdessen gibt Stahl, der sowohl über illustratives Talent als auch satirischen Bildwitz verfügt, bevorzugt den müßigen Alltag der bürgerlich-aristokratischen Oberschicht wieder. Das Motivspektrum reicht vom bunten Treiben auf den Boulevards und Plätzen der Metropole bis zu intimen Stelldicheins auf Soireen und Bällen, wo sich die elegante Gesellschaft bei Konversation, Flirt und Tanz die Zeit vertreibt. Um die Flüchtigkeit des Augenblicks einzufangen und den Eindruck von Leichtigkeit zu erzeugen, hält Stahl seine Beobachtungen meist als Grisaillen bzw. Gouachen in impressionistischer Manier fest. Ab 1899 veröffentlicht die humoristische Münchner Wochenschrift „Fliegende Blätter“ rund 350 dieser Werke, die eine anschauliche Vorstellung vom Lebensgefühl und Zeitgeist der deutschen Belle Epoque geben.

Von 1898 bis 1904 lebt Stahl in England. Dort beschäftigt er sich intensiv mit der Kunst der Präraffaeliten, die sich wiederum auf die Malerei der italienischen Frührenaissance bezieht. Der Wunsch, sie eingehend zu studieren, führt Stahl von 1904 bis 1913 nach Florenz. In dieser Zeit vollzieht sich ein radikaler Wandel in seinem Ouevre, das von nun an stilistisch wie thematisch unter dem Eindruck des Quattrocento steht. An die Stelle heiterer Alltagsszenen des Fin-de-siècle treten streng komponierte und in altmeisterlicher Lasurtechnik ausgeführte Bilder religiösen, mythologischen und literarischen Inhalts. In den mystisch-verträumten Szenen ist das Gefühl stiller Trauer um die Schönheit einer vergangenen Epoche allgegenwärtig. Fast scheint es, als ob der Künstler mit seinen Werken auf die Folgen einer bevorstehenden Zeitenwende hinweisen und vor diesen warnen wolle.

Nachdem Stahl von 1913 bis 1920 wieder in München wohnt, verbringt er die beiden letzten Jahrzehnte seines Lebens in Rom. Anlässlich seines 75. Geburtstags wird ihm die Ehre einer Retrospektivausstellung sowohl in Italien als auch in Deutschland zuteil.


WEITERE WERKE DES KÜNSTLERS

Friedrich Stahl
Ein Pessimist
Verkauft  
Details
Friedrich Stahl
Ballgeflüster
Verkauft  
Details