Rudolf Wilke • The Infant Prodigy

Rudolf Wilke
The Infant Prodigy

1896

Ink, pen and brush, charcoal, heightened with white on paper
38.5 : 50 cm

Reproduced in:
‘Jugend’, 1/39 (1896), p.628-9

8.800 €


BIOGRAPHY

Rudolf Wilke
1873 Brunswick - 1908 Brunswick

Rudolf Wilke had no easy start to his career as an artist. After completing an apprenticeship as a carpenter in Braunschweig he resolved to move to Munich in 1893 to study painting. When his application to the Academy was rejected he enrolled at a private drawing school. Dissatisfied with the teaching there, he moved to Paris, where he took up his studies at the Académie Julian and quickly made contacts with kindred spirits in bohemian circles. However, his stay was soon cut short by a shortage of money which obliged him to return to Munich in 1895.

Wilke’s luck changed in 1896 when his entry for an art competition organized by the magazine Jugend caught the attention of Georg Hirth, the magazine’s publisher. Hirth, a champion of numerous emerging draughtsmen and painters, was quick to recognize Wilke’s talents as a caricaturist. He gave him a job on the staff of the magazine and offered to fund a study trip. Wilke’s first series, titled Berliner Momentbilder, was published in Jugend in 1897 and followed by a series titled Künstlertypen vom Montmartre in 1898. A year later, Wilke was invited by the publisher Albert Langen to work as a draughtsman for his satirical magazine Simplicissimus. Wilke’s drawings were widely feted and much admired by his colleagues – all the more profound therefore was the grief and sense of loss when he died of diabetes in 1908 at the age of only thirty-five.

From the start, Wilke’s domain was caricature portraiture. His earliest contributions for Jugend and Simplicissimus depict distinctly narrative scenes with a marked focus on detail. In the course of his career his compositions became clearer and more reduced, with an emphasis on linearity. Increasingly, psychological aspects came to the fore. He would sum up the character of the figure he portrayed quickly and deftly. His medium was pencil, pen and ink, occasionally heightened with white and sometimes using spray technique. The drawings often have a nervous, notational style and seem charged with impulsive graphic energy, products of a rapid creative process. With an anthropologist’s eye he would scrutinise subjects drawn from all levels of society – his repertoire included dandies; teachers; doctors; members of student fraternities, the military, the haute bourgeoisie and the aristocracy; tramps; beggars; prostitutes; labourers; feminists; petits bourgeois and philistines. But none of his representations were stereotyped and he never robbed his figures of their dignity however exaggerated his depiction of their inner or outer characteristics might be. His rendering of the everyday concerns of the upper classes invariably has a comic touch while his view of the social problems of the lower classes suscitates empathy. Nevertheless, his drawings convey much more than just a portrait of the morals and customs of a bygone era. The momentary situations he depicts and the reaction of the protagonists to them are timelessly human. They help to explain why connoisseurs of caricature describe Wilke as a man of undoubted genius.

Wilke, Rudolf (1873 Brunswick - 1908 Brunswick)
Unbekannter Fotograf: Rudolf Wilke, um 1900

Rudolf Wilke • Das Wunderkind

Rudolf Wilke
Das Wunderkind

1896

Tusche (Feder und Pinsel), Kohle und Deckweiß auf Papier
38,5 x 50 cm

Veröffentlicht:
Jugend. Jahrgang 1 (1896), Heft 39, Seite 628/629

8.800 €


BIOGRAFIE

Rudolf Wilke
1873 Braunschweig - 1908 Braunschweig

Eine Künstlerkarriere mit Anlaufschwierigkeiten: nach Abschluss einer Zimmermannslehre zieht Rudolf Wilke 1893 von Braunschweig nach München, um dort Malerei zu studieren. Da er die Aufnahmeprüfung an der Akademie nicht besteht, nimmt er zunächst Unterricht an einer privaten Zeichenschule. Unbefriedigt geht Wilke nach Paris, wo er die Académie Julian besucht und schnell Anschluss an die Künstler-Bohème findet. Geldsorgen zwingen ihn jedoch schon 1895 zur Rückkehr nach München.

Ein 1896 von der Zeitschrift Jugend ausgeschriebener Künstlerwettbewerb bringt schließlich die Wende. Ihr Verleger Dr. Georg Hirth, der viele junge Zeichner und Maler fördert, erkennt Wilkes karikaturistisches Talent, gibt ihm eine feste Anstellung und schickt ihn zu Studienzwecken auf Reisen. 1897 veröffentlicht die Jugend seine „Berliner Momentbilder“, 1898 folgen die „Künstlertypen vom Montmartre“. Ein Jahr darauf wird Wilke von Albert Langen, dem Herausgeber der Satirezeitschrift Simplicissimus, als Zeichner eingestellt. Seine Werke sind ein großer Publikumserfolg und auch unter Kollegen ist er äußerst beliebt. Umso tiefer ist die Trauer, als Wilke 1908 mit 35 Jahren an Diabetes stirbt.

Von Anfang an ist die Porträtkarikatur Wilkes Domäne. Charakteristisch für seine frühen Beiträge in der Jugend und im Simplicissimus sind detailreich angelegte Szenen mit ausgeprägt narrativen Handlungsmomenten. Im Verlauf der Jahre werden die Kompositionen reduzierter, zugleich gewinnt die Psychologisierung der Figuren an Bedeutung. Wilkes mit Bleistift, Feder und Tusche ausgeführte Zeichnungen, die zuweilen mit Deckweiß und Spritztechnik überarbeitet sind, muten oft skizzenhaft-fahrig an und lassen einen schnellen, impulsiven Entstehungsprozess erkennen. Wie ein Anthropologe studiert der Künstler Menschen aller Schichten – das Repertoire umfasst Korpsstudenten, Dandys, Pädagogen, Ärzte, Militärs, Großbürger und Adelige, aber auch Vagabunden, Bettler, Kokotten, Arbeiter, Emanzen, Klein- und Spießbürger – ohne dabei jemals in stereotype Darstellungsmuster zu verfallen. Auch lässt Wilke seinen Figuren trotz aller äußeren und inneren Überspitzung ihre Würde. Die Alltagssorgen der Oberschicht wirken meist komisch, die sozialen Probleme der Unterschicht wecken Empathie. Doch Wilkes Zeichnungen zeigen weit mehr als das Sittenbild einer vergangenen Epoche. Das Augenblickliche der Situation und das sich daraus ergebende Verhalten seiner Protagonisten sind zeitlos menschlich und machen verständlich, warum Kenner der Karikatur ihn als geniale Begabung beschreiben.

Wilke, Rudolf (1873 Braunschweig - 1908 Braunschweig)
Unbekannter Fotograf: Rudolf Wilke, um 1900