Heinrich Kley • The Feldberger Hof Hotel
Watercolour heightened with white over pencil on cardboard
27 : 38.5 cm
Signed lower left
Estate stamp on the verso
The Artist’s Estate
The Feldberger Hof Hotel was established in 1864. Fifteen years later Carl Mayer took over the business and went on to expand it significantly, profiting from improvements in road access and a boom in the popularity of skiing. In 1906, the prestigious Karlsruhe architecture firm Curjel & Moser carried out extensive renovations.
Karlsruhe-born Heinrich Kley enjoyed considerable success with his topographical views and received regular commissions from Curjel & Moser in the 1900s. His colourful watercolours are a harmonious blend of architecture and landscape. They were reproduced and sold by the Hofkunstkunsthandlung Velten as high-quality postcards.
It is probable that the present watercolour was designed to be reproduced as a postcard advertising the newly refurbished luxury hotel.
1863 Karlsruhe - 1945 Munich
Heinrich Kley: Inspiration (Selbstbildnis), um 1910, Schweinfurt, Museum Georg Schäfer