Walter Bondy • Still Life with Candelabra

Walter Bondy
Still Life with Candelabra

c. 1908

Oil on canvas
60 : 73 cm

Provenance:
Salzburg Art Trade (until 1995)
Private Collection, Munich

Exhibitions:
Annette Gautherie-Kampka, ‟Café du Dôme – Deutsche Maler in Paris 1903 – 1914”, exhib. cat., Kunsthalle Wilhelmshaven, Städtische Galerie Würzburg and Kunsthalle Darmstadt, Bremen 1996, p. 35
Nadine Steinacker and Verena Titze (eds.), ‟Die Dômiers. Der deutsche Künstlerkreis des Café du Dôme in Paris”, Kunsthaus Apolda Avantgarde, Apolda 2015, p. 22, no. 6

Literature:
Annette Gautherie-Kampka, ‘Walter Bondy’ in ‟Weltkunst”, 63/19, October 1993, p. 2568
Ead, ‟Les Allemandes du Dôme”, Bern 1995, p. 165 ff

Price on request


BIOGRAPHY

Walter Bondy
1880 Prague - 1940 Toulon

Walter Bondy was born into a family of wealthy Austrian industrialists. He grew up in Vienna, where he trained as a painter at the Academy of Fine Arts. After visits to Berlin and Munich he moved to Paris in 1903. In Montparnasse, he frequented popular bars and brasseries such as Le Dôme and was one of the first members of the ‘Café du Dôme’ circle, a German art community that made the cafe its focal point. Le Dôme’s popularity steadily increased up to the outbreak of World War I. It soon became the principal meeting place in Paris for German-speaking painters, writers, intellectuals, art critics and dealers.

In Paris, Bondy’s painting was initially influenced by the work of Edouard Manet and the French Impressionists. Later, Paul Cézanne and Vincent van Gogh provided important stimuli. Bondy went on to develop a modernist style which, although by no means avant-garde, built on elements of traditional French art to produce its own distinctive painterly language.

Bondy assumed something of a leading role in the dissemination of French modernism in Germany before World War I. This is largely due to his excellent links to the Berlin art scene. He began to exhibit with the Berlin Secession in 1904 and enjoyed the support of one of the most influential gallerists of the time, his cousin Paul Cassirer, who actively promoted his work. In 1911, Cassirer staged a group exhibition featuring paintings by Bondy and his Dômier colleagues – the painters Rudolf Levy, Hans Purrmann and Jules Pascin. In 1913, Cassirer hosted a joint exhibition of work by Bondy and Max Beckmann.

Bondy settled in Berlin in 1913. With the outbreak of war his links to France and to the ‘Café du Dôme’ group ruptured and the group eventually dissolved. He earned his living working as an art dealer with another cousin, Erich Cassirer, and also wrote columns for Bruno Cassirer’s art magazine Kunst und Künstler. In 1927, Bondy set up a publication of his own, the art journal Kunstauktion, which reviewed all the major European art auctions. It was the forerunner of the magazine Weltkunst which is still published today.

The rise of National Socialism forced Bondy to leave Berlin in 1932. He fled to Sanary-sur-Mer in the south of France where a small circle of German-speaking émigrés had settled. Here, he met his second wife and together they ran a photography studio. The capitulation of France in 1940 drove Bondy, a diabetes sufferer, into a severe depression. He lost all interest in life and died shortly afterwards in exile.

Walter Bondy • Stilleben mit Kerzenleuchter

Walter Bondy
Stilleben mit Kerzenleuchter

um 1908

Öl auf Leinwand
60 x 73 cm

Provenienz:
Kunsthandel, Salzburg
Privatsammlung, München

Ausstellungen:
Annette Gautherie-Kampka: Café du Dôme – Deutsche Maler in Paris 1903 – 1914, Ausstellungskatalog Kunsthalle Wilhelmshaven, Städtische Galerie Würzburg und Kunsthalle Darmstadt. Bremen 1996, Seite 35
Nadine Steinacker/Verena Titze (Hrsg.): Die Dômiers. Der deutsche Künstlerkreis des Café du Dôme in Paris, Kunsthaus Apolda Avantgarde. Apolda 2015, Seite 22, Nr. 6

Literatur:
Annette Gautherie-Kampka: Walter Bondy. In: Weltkunst, Jahrgang 63, Nr. 19, Oktober 1993, Seite 2568
Annette Gautherie-Kampka: Les Allemandes du Dôme. Bern 1995, Seite 165ff.

Preis auf Anfrage


BIOGRAFIE

Walter Bondy
1880 Prag - 1940 Toulon

Walter Bondy entstammt einer wohlhabenden österreichischen Unternehmerfamilie und wächst in Wien auf, wo er das Studium der Malerei an der Kunstakademie beginnt. Nach Aufenthalten in Berlin und München zieht er 1903 nach Paris und gehört dort zu den Begründern des Künstlerkreises im Café du Dôme. Diese sich bis zum Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs ständig erweiternde Enklave wird schnell zum Treffpunkt führender deutschsprachiger Maler, Literaten, Intellektueller, Kunstkritiker sowie Kunsthändler in der französischen Hauptstadt.

In Paris steht Bondys Malerei zunächst unter dem Eindruck von Edouard Manet und den französischen Impressionisten, später geben ihm die Werke von Paul Cézanne und Vincent van Gogh wichtige Impulse. Er findet zu einer modernistischen Malerei, die die Tradition der französischen peinture aufgreift und eigenständig fortschreibt. Dass Bondy in Deutschland zu einem wichtigen Mittler der französischen Kunst avanciert, ist nicht zuletzt seinen exzellenten Verbindungen zur Berliner Kunstszene geschuldet. Ab 1904 ist er in den Ausstellungen der Secession vertreten und auch sein Vetter Paul Cassirer, der zu den einflussreichsten Galeristen der Zeit zählt, macht sich für die Etablierung seiner Werke stark. 1911 zeigt er Bondys Gemälde zusammen mit denen seiner Café du Dôme-Freunde Rudolf Levy, Hans Purrmann und Jules Pascin. 1913 folgt eine Ausstellung mit Bondys Werken und denen Max Beckmanns.

Während des Ersten Weltkrieges reißt Bondys Verbindung, der seit 1913 in Berlin lebt, nach Frankreich ab und auch der Künstlerkreis des Café du Dôme zerbricht. Um seinen Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen, betreibt er mit seinem Cousin Erich Cassirer einen Kunsthandel und arbeitet als Kritiker für die von Bruno Cassirer geleitete Zeitschrift "Kunst und Künstler". 1927 gründet Bondy das Magazin "Kunstauktion", das über die wichtigsten Versteigerungen im In- und Ausland berichtet und zum Vorläufer der bis heute existierenden "Weltkunst" wird.

Der aufkommende Nationalsozialismus veranlasst Bondy 1932 ins südfranzösische Sanary-sur-Mer überzusiedeln, wo sich bereits ein kleiner Kreis deutschsprachiger Emigranten niedergelassen hat. Dort lernt er seine zweite Ehefrau kennen, mit der er ein Fotoatelier betreibt. Die Besetzung Frankreichs 1940 durch die deutsche Wehrmacht versetzt den an Diabetes erkrankten Bondy in eine schwere Depression und lässt ihn allen Lebensmut verlieren. Kurz darauf stirbt er im Exil.