Kristin Kolb • Hoopoo

Kristin Kolb
Hoopoo

2019

Gouache and crayons over pencil and ink on endpapers of a book
22 : 15.5 cm
Monogrammed and dated lower right: "KK 2019"

3.800 €


BIOGRAPHY

Kristin Kolb
Based in Berlin

Berlin-based artist Kristin Kolb’s imagery is inherently realistic but it also has a touch of the surreal – on the one hand it seems familiar, but on the other, oddly unsettling. She sources her subject matter in the animal world, basing her drawings on the meticulous study of native and exotic species. A qualified pharmacist, she displays a sure hand and unerring powers of observation. The old-masterly precision of her draughtsmanship and her virtuoso incorporation of art-historical references are remarkable.

Kolb frequently uses antiquarian books as supports for her drawings. Working with coloured crayon, acrylic and Indian ink she incorporates their covers, spines and endpapers as compositional elements, achieving striking visual effects. Signs of wear and age play a major role in the aesthetic impact of her work. The colour, ornamental design and typography of the books not only serve as integral elements of the composition but are also the key to understanding its underlying concept. Authors’ names and book titles play an equally important role, triggering associations and suggesting different levels of meaning.

The vitality of Kolb’s work is striking. Although her depiction of the physical appearance of animals is always accurate and true to life she decontextualizes her subjects, sometimes to surreal effect. Many of her drawings depict complex grotesqueries of animals, often with a narrative element. Her mix of cheerful tongue-in-cheek wit and dark humour may prompt the occasional smile but can also encourage deeper reflection. Her fantastical visual images create a multifaceted view of the relationship between animals and humans – although humans are never in evidence.


MORE ARTWORK BY THIS ARTIST

Kristin Kolb
Der zweckmäßige Meyer
4.500 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Goldhand
7.500 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Greyhound
3.800 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Monkeys
8.800 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Treasure
6.500 €
Details

Kristin Kolb • Wiedehopf

Kristin Kolb
Wiedehopf

2019

Gouache und Farbstifte über Bleistift und Tusche auf Buchvorsatz
22 x 15,5 cm
Rechts unten monogrammiert und datiert: „KK 2019“

3.800 €


BIOGRAFIE

Kristin Kolb
Lebt in Berlin

Die Bildwelten der in Berlin lebenden Künstlerin Kristin Kolb sind realistisch und surreal zugleich. Hierdurch wirken sie einerseits vertraut, andererseits befremdlich. Ihre Motive findet die approbierte Apothekerin meist in der heimischen und exotischen Tierwelt, die sie akribisch studiert. Ein untrügliches Gespür für Maß und Präzision durchzieht Kolbs Schaffen, das nicht nur durch seine altmeisterliche Zeichentechnik besticht, sondern auch durch das Aufgreifen kunsthistorischer Traditionen.

Für ihre mit Farbstiften, Acryl und Tusche ausgeführten Zeichnungen verwendet Kolb häufig antiquarische Bücher als Bildträger. Durch die Nutzung der Buchrücken sowie Vorsatzpapiere erzielt sie unterschiedliche Wirkungen, wobei die Alters- und Gebrauchsspuren der Materialien die Ästhetik des jeweiligen Werkes wesentlich mitbestimmen. Farbigkeit, Ornamentik und Typographie der Bücher sind ebenfalls integraler Bestandteil von Kolbs Kompositionen. Darüber hinaus geben sie Hinweise auf den Werken zugrundliegende Gedanken. Auch die Namen der Autoren sowie die Titel der Bücher spielen eine wichtige Rolle, indem sie Assoziationen auslösen und zu Spekulationen über mögliche Bedeutungsebenen der Bildideen anregen.

Kolbs Werke faszinieren unmittelbar durch die Lebendigkeit der Darstellung. Während sich die Künstlerin bei der anatomischen Erfassung der Tiere stets am realen Vorbild orientiert, verfremdet sie deren Verhaltensweisen zuweilen surreal. Nicht selten zeichnet sie komplexe Tiergrotesken mit teilweise narrativen Elementen. Ihr mal augenzwinkernd heiterer, mal ernsthaft düsterer Humor kann sowohl ein intuitives Schmunzeln hervorrufen, als auch zu tieferem Nachdenken anregen. Auf diese Weise fügen sich Kolbs fantastische Bildwelten zu einer facettenreichen Betrachtung über das Verhältnis von Tier und Mensch, ohne dass letzterer dabei direkt in Erscheinung tritt.


WEITERE WERKE DES KÜNSTLERS

Kristin Kolb
Affen
8.800 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Der Schatz
6.500 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Der zweckmäßige Meyer
4.500 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Goldhand
7.500 €
Details
Kristin Kolb
Windhund
3.800 €
Details