Franz von Lenbach • Portrait of Mary Victoria Lady Curzon of Kedleston, Vicereine of India

Franz von Lenbach
Portrait of Mary Victoria Lady Curzon of Kedleston, Vicereine of India

1896

Oil on cardboard
77.5 : 72 cm
Verso handwritten authentification from Lolo von Lenbach, Munich, November 1904, there inscribed "Lady Lily Curzon".
Verso of frame with label "Deutsch-Nationale Kunst-Ausstellung Düsseldorf 1907"

Provenance:
Rudolf von Goldschmidt-Rothschild, Frankfurt am Main, until 1911
Galerie Heinemann Munich, until 1917
Kunstgesellschaft Zürich, 1917
Private Collection

Price on request


BIOGRAPHY

Franz von Lenbach
1836 Schrobenhausen - 1904 Munich

Franz Lenbach was born in the Upper Bavarian town of Schrobenhausen, where his father was the town’s master builder. Together with Friedrich August Kaulbach and Franz Stuck, Lenbach was one of the three most influential painters active in Munich at the turn of the twentieth century. The unparalleled demand for their work allowed them to enjoy a princely lifestyle which gave rise to the title Malerfürst [prince of painters] conferred on all three by critics and the public.

Lenbach’s intensive study of the Old Masters at an early stage in his career and into the 1860s had a formative influence on his work and contributed to his success as one of the leading portraitists of his time. After the founding of the German Empire in 1871 members of the old social order and the new social and political elite felt a growing need to display their wealth and status. In Lenbach, a specialist in the portrait genre, they found an ideal partner to portray their pomp and pride.

Lenbach’s fame soon resonated far beyond the boundaries of Munich. Not long after his elevation into the nobility in 1882, he acquired a private residence and studio on Munich’s Königsplatz. It was designed for him by the architect Emanuel von Seidl and built in the style of a Renaissance palazzo. Members of the European political and economic elite beat a path to his door. Commissions came from members of high society and the affluent bourgeoisie as well as from distinguished intellectual and cultural figures, explorers, writers, singers, painters and actors.

As a portraitist, Lenbach worked in a style gleaned from his assiduous study of the Old Masters. This idea of portraiture is reflected in his predilection for elegant dress and dignified, graceful poses set against dark, undefined backgrounds and the all-pervading brownness of ‘gallery tone’. In his large-format head-and-torso or three-quarter-length portraits the social standing of the sitter is generally emphasised but his studies of heads usually convey an impression of intimacy. In these, the main focus is on capturing the underlying personality traits of the individual.


MORE ARTWORK BY THIS ARTIST

Franz von Lenbach
An Oriental Girl
Price on request
Details
Franz von Lenbach
Porträt der Tänzerin Saharet
Sold  
Details
Franz von Lenbach
Portrait Lydia Feez
Sold  
Details

Franz von Lenbach • Porträt der Mary Victoria Lady Curzon von Kedleston, Vizekönigin von Indien

Franz von Lenbach
Porträt der Mary Victoria Lady Curzon von Kedleston, Vizekönigin von Indien

1896

Öl auf Karton
77,5 x 72 cm
Verso: Handschriftliche Bestätigung von Lolo von Lenbach, München 1904. Dort die Dargestellte als Lady Lily Curzon bestätigt

Provenienz:
Rudolf von Goldschmidt-Rothschild, Frankfurt am Main, bis 1911
Galerie Heinemann München, bis 1917
Kunstgesellschaft Zürich, 1917
Privatsammlung

Ausstellung:
Deutsch-Nationale Kunst-Ausstellung, Düsseldorf 1907

Preis auf Anfrage


BIOGRAFIE

Franz von Lenbach
1836 Schrobenhausen - 1904 München

Der als Sohn eines Baumeisters im oberbayerischen Schrobenhausen geborene Franz Lenbach zählt neben Friedrich August Kaulbach und Franz Stuck zu den drei Münchner Malerfürsten, die das Kunstleben der Isarmetropole in den Jahren um 1900 maßgeblich prägten. Geschult an der Kunst der Alten Meister, die Lenbach ab den 1860er Jahren intensiv studierte, etablierte er sich als einer der führenden Porträtmaler seiner Zeit. Mit der Spezialisierung auf dieses Genre entsprach er dem nach der Gründung des Deutschen Kaiserreichs 1871 stetig zunehmenden Repräsentationsbedürfnis alter wie neuer gesellschaftlicher Eliten in idealer Weise.

Lenbachs Glanz strahlte bald weit über Münchens Grenzen hinaus. Wenige Jahre nach der Erhebung in den persönlichen Adelsstand 1882 ließ er sich vom Architekten Emanuel von Seidl am Königsplatz ein im Stil eines italienischen Renaissance-Palazzos angelegtes Wohn- und Atelierhaus errichteten, in dem die europäische Politik- und Wirtschaftsaristokratie ein- und ausging. Zu Lenbachs Auftraggebern zählten Angehörige des Hochadels und des Großbürgertums, ebenso Persönlichkeiten aus dem Geistes- und Kulturleben (Forscher, Schriftsteller, Sänger, Schauspieler, Maler etc.).

Charakteristisch für Lenbachs Porträtauffassung ist eine an den Alten Meistern geschulte Darstellungsweise. Sie schlägt sich nicht nur in der vornehmen Gewandung und würdevollen Haltung seiner Modelle nieder, sondern auch im dunklen „Galerieton“, vor dem diese oft erscheinen. Während der Künstler in den als Halb- bzw. Dreiviertelporträts angelegten großformatigen Werken in der Regel die gesellschaftliche Stellung der Person unterstreicht, geht von seinen Kopfstudien meist eine intime Wirkung aus. Hier liegt der Hauptakzent auf der Erfassung psychologisch-charakterlicher Züge.


WEITERE WERKE DES KÜNSTLERS

Franz von Lenbach
Orientalin
Preis auf Anfrage
Details
Franz von Lenbach
Porträt der Tänzerin Saharet
Verkauft  
Details
Franz von Lenbach
Portrait Lydia Feez
Verkauft  
Details